Sathu Maavu Ganji Recipe (Multi-cereal Health Mix porridge)

In this post I am writing the recipe for a healthy Multi-cereal porridge. I try to give this to my son on a daily basis but this can be consumed by adults as well.

There are a lot of ready-made versions of this available in stores (in India) but as far as I have noticed none of them contain as many ingredients as I like to include in it. You  also  have the flexibility to omit a few ingredients if you prepare this at home.

I also like to sprout most of the cereals/pulses as I feel it makes it healthier – this is also not done in most of the store-bought ones.

So here goes my recipe –

Ingredients

Cereals

Raagi (Finger Millet) – 2 cups

Red rice – 1 cup

Parboiled rice (white)/Puzhungal arisi – 1 cup

Bajra (Pearl millet) – 1/2 cup

Jowar (Sorghum) – 1/2 cup

Wheat – 1/2 cup

Oats – 1/4 cup

Sabudana (Javarisi/Sago) – 1/4 cup

Corn – 1/4 cup

Barley – 1/4 cup

Pulses

Green gram (Full moong) – 1/2 cup

Soyabean – 1/4 cup

Chickpeas (Chana kabuli) – 1/4 cup

Fried gram (pottu kadalai) – 1/4 cup

Nuts

Groundnut – 1/8 cup

Cashew – 1/8 cup

Almonds – 1/8 cup

Cardomom – 1 handful

Flax seeds – 1 handful

Procedure

– Out of the above ingredients

  • Raagi, Bajra, Jowar – Wash each separately in water and soak for 2 days and tie in muslin cloth for 2 days in a dark place for sprouting. Then dry in shade till completely dry.
  • Green gram(Moong), Soyabean, Channa – Wash each separately in water and soak for 1 days and tie in muslin cloth for 1 days in a dark place for sprouting. Then dry in shade till completely dry.
  • Red rice, Boiled rice (puzhungal arisi), Wheat – wash and dry in shade till completely dry.
  • Rest of the ingredients use as is.

– Mildly Dry roast all of the above ingredients one by one.

– Mix all the ingredients and blend into a fine powder – if you are in India, you can do this in the flour mill.

Once powdered, your Sathu Maavu Ganji powder is ready. If stored in an airtight container in a dry place, this can be kept for 3 months.

Porridge Recipe

The porridge can be made by dissolving 2 tbsp of this powder in some water. Then add to this glass of milk/water and cook on low flame stirring continuously. Depending on how thick you want your porridge you can vary the amount of porridge mix and the water/milk. Sugar can be added to taste and you can even add a few raisins if you like.

If you would like to have a salty version of the porridge cook the porridge as mentioned above in water, cool it and then add some buttermilk, salt, asafoetida (hing). However for this you might want to leave out the cardamom from the powder as it might not suit the salty version.

Nutritious Ganji Ready!

The process is pretty long but the end product is so nutritious and wholesome that the effort is justified 🙂

Tips :

– Do not get overwhelmed by the ingredients listing – you can leave out whatever is not available

– The quantities I have mentioned will yield a lot of powder – so if you are not going to make it regularly please reduce the quantities proportionately.

– I started making this for my son from when he was 2 years old but if you want to give it to younger kids, check with your doctor first.

– If you plan on making the salty version, leave out the cardamom.

– Vegans can replace the milk with soya milk or any other suitable milk

4 thoughts on “Sathu Maavu Ganji Recipe (Multi-cereal Health Mix porridge)

  1. I really like the sprouting of most of the ingredients. I wish there was enough sunlight for drying and nice commercial flour mills here too! One suggestion: soaking nuts is supposed to remove some harmful allergens. Although then, proper drying may be a problem owing to attacks by ants and other pests. Maybe an oven would dry it well?

    • Thanks Apsara. Sprouting not only makes it more nutritious, it also makes it easier to digest.
      I do not know about allergens in Nuts – will look it up on the net. I have not tried drying in an oven so far but it is a great idea – I assume you are talking about a regular oven; I do not use a microwave.

  2. Hi
    Could you pls tell the proper Way to sprout the things
    I know it is a very simple process but still I dnt kno where the prob is.by the time the cereal sprouts it is spoilt n smelly .i live in Haryana where the currently the climate is too hot like maximum of 45 sometimes

    • Hi Sarika,
      I cannot claim to be an expert at sprouting but this is what I do – I soak the cereals and then once soaked, tie it up in a cloth/towel. Then I keep that in my OTG oven (switched off!) – just because it will be dark inside. As far as I know, for sprouting it needs to be damp and dark. But dont leave it for too long as it might get smelly. Keep checking on it. Usually most of them take a day or two. If this does not work for you, you can consider trying to buy a sprout maker. They are quite easily available in India. I have not used them but I know a lot of people who do.
      Hope this is helpful….Let me know if you succeed with your sprouting.

Leave a Reply

