Eggless Triple-choc Muffins

There was a Aussie TV soap I used to watch sometime back in which the main character – a lady would often bake Triple-choc muffins and people would devour it like it was the tastiest thing on earth! From the time I watched that, I have been planning to make it. I checked for recipes for the same but could not find any good recipes which were eggless. So I kind of dropped the idea of making this.

My sister also keeps herself busy with her baking experiments and she told me that flax seed powder is a good substitute for Egg in baking recipes. So I decided to try it out for myself with this Triple choc recipe – and the results were amazing!

You can find the original recipe here but I have tweaked it quite a bit below.

I have tried this recipe a few times and it comes out really well. This is a very rich recipe – sinfully rich! Chocolates, Butter, Sugar etc but I did not want to alter this too much because I made this only when there was a reason to indulge in a good dessert.

You can probably use the store-bought Flax seed powder but I had only Flax seeds with me and I powdered it in the blender.

Ingredients

3 cups plain flour

1 1/4 tablespoon baking powder

1 cup choco chips (dark, milk and white) (I had only white and dark choco chips, used a regular milk chocolate bar cut into fine pieces for the milk chocolate)

1 1/2 cups milk

2 tablespoon Flaxseed powder in 6 tbsp water – left for 10 mins

3 tablespoon cocoa

1 ½ cups brown sugar

125 g melted sugar

Method

Preheat oven to 160 deg

Sift the flour, cocoa and baking powder

Add the brown sugar, choco chips and mix well

Add melted butter, milk and the flaxseed solution and mix well

Fill ¾ each muffin hole with paper lining and back for 18 to 20 mins or till cooked. I always use the famous toothprick test to check if it is done. Mine took about 25 mins but this might vary depending on your oven and the size of the muffins you bake.

With the measurements given if you use small muffin cups, you would get about 24 -30 muffins.

The muffins were moist, dense and not-too-sweet . They disappeared in a jiffy!

Triple-choc – Fresh out of the oven!

Deliciously Chocolaty!

Tips

  • If you try to reduce the amount of choco-chips in the recipe, the taste is a bit bland – do not compromise on it.
  • Using brown sugar works really well in this recipe but you can substitute it for White sugar if you don’t have it in your pantry.
  • Let the flax seed powder mixed with 3 times quantity of water rest for about 10-15 mins – that helps it get an egg-like consistency.
Leave a Reply

