Eggless Banana Cookies

I got this recipe when I was watching  Chellam Rani’s cookery show on Jaya TV with my mom few months back. However at that point of time I did not have an oven. I tried to recollect the recipe and jot it down for my sister who is now a Pro in baking :)! My mom is interested in all these recipes and used to do a lot of baking when we were young. I will get the recipe of my mom’s lovely butter biscuits and Omum (Ajwain) biscuits and put it in the blog sometime.

This banana cookie recipe may not be exactly what was mentioned on the show because I did not write it down while I was watching the show – Nevertheless I have tried this out a couple of times and  it came out well!

Ingredients

Margarine/Saltless Butter – 50gm (I used butter)

Maida – 100gms

Baking soda/Cooking soda – 1/4 tsp

Castor sugar – 50gm (I used regular sugar)

Brown Sugar – 50gm

Banana – 50gm (about half of a big banana – I used 2 small elaichi banana)

Vanilla essence – 1tsp

Almonds/Walnuts (chopped) – 1 tbsp (Optional)

Cinnamon powder – 1/4 tsp (Optional)

Procedure

  1. Bring the butter to room temperature (if it was frozen)
  2. Since I used Granulated sugar, I powdered it a little in the dry jar of mixie along with the brown sugar (for which I used Deremera sugar). If you are already using fine sugar, you can chose to skip this step.
  3. With a fork/masher/hand, mash the bananas.
  4. Mix the mashed bananas, sugar, brown sugar, butter and mix it all well till it forms a smooth mixture. Add the vanilla essence to this and whisk it together. Also mix the cinnamon powder if you are adding it.
  5. Take the maida and baking soda and sieve it together (about 2 or 3 times) so that it is mixed well.
  6. Now mix the dry maida+soda into the wet mixture – but dont beat it or mix it too hard. Just gently fold it till it is mixed well.
  7. You can add the chopped walnuts/almonds to this and mix it.
  8. Dust the baking tray/aluminium sheet (Spread butter and pat it with maida) or line it with a butter paper.
  9. Now you can take this cookie mix (dough) and roll it into small balls (You can use your hands for this. Greasing your hands will not be necessary as the mixture contains the butter required for this. If it is too sticky, then you can grease your palms before you do this)
  10. Put these cookie balls on the tray and ensure you leave enough gap between them as they are going to rise and expand as it bakes.
  11. Use a fork and press these gently to make it a little flat and also to give it a striped design/effect. You can also poke holes in the cookies using the fork. [Note: If you make them too flat, your cookies will come out too crispy.]
  12. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 150 deg Centigrade for about 15-20 mins. (Mine took about 18 mins to have the right cookie texture)
  13. Remove the tray from the oven and let it cool completely before you can taste them. (This is really important as it would seem very soft when you take it out. However it gets crisp once you let it cool off)

Cookies just out of the oven – needs to cool off!

Tips

  • The cookies taste really yummy but it was a bit too sweet for my taste – so maybe you can reduce the sugar a little. However I am not sure if the cookies would come out fine if you reduce it considerably (My son and hubby seemed to like it this way, so I dont plan to alter this recipe much)
  • If you make the cookies too flat/thin, they turn out very crispy (my son loved the batch that I made crispy!) However, if you make them a bit thick, they are more cookie-like – They had a nice crispy crust and chewy inside.
  • The cinnamon powder was not in the original recipe. I just tried to add it to give it a different flavour.
  • The measurements above would make about a dozen regular sized cookies (Approx  – Honestly mine got over so quickly I could not even count them after it was done :)!)

Enjoy your cookies with a cup of hot coffee! Perfect for a relaxed weekend 🙂

Cookies with Madras-style coffee – Heaven 🙂

One thought on “Eggless Banana Cookies

Leave a Reply

